25 Mississippi Delta Blues Songs

No place has produced more influential American bluesmen and women than the Missisippi Delta. So let's celebrate some of the most noted musicians who came from Mississippi or surrounding areas. These 25 recordings strongly represent Mississippi's influence on the blues!

1. ‘Yellow Dog Blues’  - W.C. Handy (1919)

2. ‘Spike Driver Blues’ - Mississippi John Hurt (1928)

3. ‘Mississippi Boweavil Blues’  - Charley Patton (1929)

4. ‘Walking Blues’- Son House (1930)

5. ‘Hard Times Killing Floor Blues’ - Skip James (1931)

6. ‘Crossroad Blues’ - Robert Johnson (1936-37)

7. ‘Rosie’ - Unidentified Mississippi State Penitentiary prisoners (1939). Beginning in 1933, musicologist John Lomax and later his son Alan Lomax began making field recordings to document American folk music. Their work included recordings made at some of the nation's most infamous prisons including the Mississippi State Penitentiary at Parchman and Louisiana State Penitentiary at Angola. "Rosie" was recorded at Parchman by a number of unidentified inmates. Parts of the song are included in David Guetta's "Hey Mama," featuring Nicki Minaj. Alan Lomax is credited on the song.

8. ‘That’s All Right’- Arthur ‘Big Boy’ Crudup (1946)

9. ‘Dust My Broom’- Elmore James (1951)

10. ‘Baby Please Don’t Go’ - Muddy Waters (1953) 

11. ‘I’m Your Hoochie Coochie Man’- Willie Dixon (1954)

12. ‘Don’t Start Me Talkin’ ’- Sonny Boy Williamson II (1955)

13. ‘Smokestack Lightning’- Howlin’ Wolf (1956)

14. ‘Boom Boom’- John Lee Hooker (1961)

15. ‘Poor Black Mattie’- R.L. Burnside (c. 1960s)

16. ‘Born Under a Bad Sign’- Albert King (1967)

17. ‘Mary Had a Little Lamb’- Buddy Guy (1967)

18. ‘The Thrill is Gone’- B.B. King (1969)

19. ‘I Wanna Do the Do’- Bobby Rush (1979)

20. ‘She-Wolf’- Jessie Mae Hemphill (1981)

21. ‘Keep Your Hands Off Her’- Junior Kimbrough (1982)

22. ‘Shimmy She Wobble’- Othar (Otha) Turner (2001)

23. ‘Mississippi Woman’- Denise LaSalle (2010)

24. ‘High Minded’- Jarekus Singleton (2014)

25. ‘Catfish Blues’ - Jimmy ‘Duck’ Holmes (2019)